ENGL 1B, Introduction to Literature: Library Books On Course Material

Poetry is everywhere. From Amanda Gorman performing "The Hill We Climb" before the nation at Joe Biden's Presidential inauguration, to poems regularly going viral on Instagram and Twitter, more Americans are reading and interacting with poetry than ever before.

An engaging, thought-provoking, and polemical volume on what makes American literature what it is today.

This Norton Critical Edition includes: Emily Wilson's authoritative translation of Homer's masterpiece, accompanied by her informative introduction, explanatory footnotes, and book-by-book summaries. Four maps, created especially for this translation. Contextual materials including sources and analogues by Homer, Sappho, Pindar, and others. Also included are carefully chosen passages from (mainly) ancient texts that provide insight into The Odyssey and its reception by Plato, Aristotle, Ovid, Pseudo-Longinus, Lucian, Apollodorus, Heraclitus, Porphyry, Proclus, Hyginus, Dante Alighieri, Alfred Lord Tennyson, C. P. Cavafy, Derek Walcott, and Margaret Atwood. Five critical essays addressing key topics--composition; representation of religion and the gods; class and slavery; gender; and more-- essential to the study of The Odyssey. Essays by Laurel Fulkerson, Laura M. Slatkin, Patrice Rankine, Helene P. Foley, and Egbert J. Bakker, are included. A glossary and a list of suggested further readings.

This Norton Critical Edition includes: Burton Raffel's masterful translation, lightly revised by Diana de Armas Wilson, and including the translator's note. A revised and expanded introduction as well as revised and expanded explanatory footnotes by Diana de Armas Wilson. A rich selection of contextual materials, including related writings by Cervantes and his contemporaries as well as a modern account of Don Quijote's influence over five centuries. Fifteen critical essays--seven of them new to the Second Edition--thematically organized to maximize classroom discussion. The new essays are by Ilan Stavans, Anne J. Cruz, Paul Michael Johnson, Pablo Garci´a-Pin~ar, Anthony J. Cascardi, Barbara Fuchs, and Andre´s Lema-Hincapie´. A chronology and a selected bibliography.

This Norton Critical Edition includes: * Melville's classic novel of whaling and revenge, based on Hershel Parker's revision of the 1967 text edited by Harrison Hayford and Hershel Parker. * Twenty-six illustrations, including maps, contemporary engravings, and diagrams of whaleboat rigging. * Background and source materials centering on whaling and whalecraft, Melville's international reception, the inspirations for Moby-Dick, and Melville's related correspondence. * Forty-four reviews and interpretations of the novel spanning three centuries. * A revised and updated Selected Bibliography.

This Norton Critical Edition includes: The 1925 first American edition text of the novel. A full introduction, a note on the text, and explanatory annotations by David J. Alworth. An unusually rich selection of contextual materials, including Fitzgerald's sources for his greatest novel, excerpts from his ledger and notebooks, three of his related short stories, twenty-two carefully chosen letters concerning The Great Gatsby, and eight selections--four of them by Fitzgerald--on the Jazz Age and American Modernism.  A wide range of critical assessments, covering initial reviews and reactions, Fitzgerald's revival, and reconsiderations and recent readings. A chronology and selected bibliography.

Postcolonial Love Poem is an anthem of desire against erasure.

Based on the extraordinary life of National Book Award-winning author Louise Erdrich's grandfather who worked as a night watchman and carried the fight against Native dispossession from rural North Dakota all the way to Washington, D.C., this powerful novel explores themes of love and death with lightness and gravity and unfolds with the elegant prose, sly humor, and depth of feeling of a master craftsman.

Neil Gaiman is one of the most widely known writers of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, having produced fiction and nonfiction, fantasy and horror, television, comics, and prose. He often attributes this eclecticism to his "compost heap" approach to writing, gathering inspiration from life, religion, literature, and mythology. Readers love to sink into Gaiman's medieval worlds--but what makes them "medieval"? Shiloh Carroll offers an introduction to the idea of medievalism, how the literature and culture of the Middle Ages have been reinterpreted and repurposed over the centuries, and how the layers of interpretation have impacted Gaiman's own use of medieval material. She examines influences from Norse mythology and Beowulf to medieval romances and fairy tales in order to expand readers' understanding and appreciation of Gaiman's work, as well as the rest of the medievalist films, TV shows, and books that are so popular today.

WINNER OF THE 2023 PULITZER PRIZE IN POETRY A new collection of poems from one of America's most essential, celebrated, and enduring poets, Carl Phillips's Then the War I'm a song, changing. I'm a light rain falling through a vast darkness toward a different darkness. Carl Phillips has aptly described his work as an "ongoing quest"; Then the War is the next step in that meaningful process of self-discovery for both the poet and his reader. The new poems, written in a time of rising racial conflict in the United States, with its attendant violence and uncertainty, find Phillips entering deeper into the landscape he has made his own: a forest of intimacy, queerness, and moral inquiry, where the farther we go, the more difficult it is to remember why or where we started. Then the War includes a generous selection of Phillips's work from the previous thirteen years, as well as his recent lyric prose memoir, "Among the Trees," and his chapbook, Star Map with Action Figures. Ultimately, Phillips refuses pessimism, arguing for tenderness and human connection as profound forces for revolution and conjuring a spell against indifference and the easy escapes of nostalgia. Then the War is luminous testimony to the power of self-reckoning and to Carl Phillips as an ever-changing, necessary voice in contemporary poetry.

An American classic and one of the world's seminal antiwar books, Kurt Vonnegut's Slaughterhouse-Five is faithfully presented in graphic novel form for the first time from Eisner Award-winning writer Ryan North.

San Francisco, late 1970s. At 28 Barbary Lane, Anna Madrigal runs a boarding house. Now in graphic novel form for the first time.

Artist Paul Peart-Smith offers the first graphic adaptation of Du Bois's seminal work.

A vivid graphic novel adaptation of Shakespeare's Macbeth. Faithful to the original text while providing a new lavish rendition. When three witches prophecy to Macbeth that he will one day become the King of Scotland, an epic of unhappiness, treachery, and blood begins. Macbeth and Lady Macbeth's ambitions lead to an ever-growing path of murder as Macbeth grows ever-closer to the throne. But where will it all end? Only with death - and with madness. Influenced by the witches and magic of Macbeth, K. Briggs's lush new graphic novel rendition of the classic provides a new interpretation of the Scottish play. Briggs, as a Shakespeare reader (and performer) from age twelve, brings their lifelong love of the Bard to this work.