EMT - Emergency Medical Technician: Home

NIH PubMed - PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the US National Institutes of Health's National Library.  Comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

PLOS Is a nonprofit publisher of open-access journals in science, technology, and medicine and other scientific literature, under an open-content license

EMS World: Is a publication for prehospital emergency medical care providers. The magazine covers clinical and educational issues important to the emergency medical field, including legislative changes, curriculum developments, and technological improvements within the field of emergency medical services. EMS World is the leading authority on providing expert-guided clinical, management and regulatory content to a discerning and dedicated audience on the front lines of out-of-hospital care.

JEMS (Journal of Emergency Medical Services) home for emergency medical services industry-leading news, information and training. Access EMS and paramedic news, training, and education.

Prehospital Emergency Care : publishes peer-reviewed information relevant to the practice, educational advancement, and investigation of prehospital emergency care.

College of the Mainland (Texas City, TX)

College of the Redwoods EMT (Eureka, CA)

College of Southern Idaho - EMT 
(Twin Falls, ID)

Gateway Technical College EMT (Rancine, WI)

Jackson State Community College EMT (Jackson, TN)

Las Positas College - EMS (Livermore, CA)

RECOMMENDED LIBRARY DATABASES

AHFS Consumer Medication Information, EBSCO

AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest. This content is updated monthly.

Health Source - Consumer Edition (CONTAINS PEER REVIEWED MATERIAL)

This database, part of the EBSCOhost database collection, is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish). Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.
 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (CONTAINS PEER REVIEWED MATERIAL)
Covers medical disciplines and information regarding prescription drugs, herbal remedies, and nutritional supplements.
Contains 650 full text journals and abstracts and indexing for more than 850 journals and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide

MEDLINE
Provides citations from current biomedical journals. Topics covered include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.

Database Keywords

Suggested search terms. Use an asterisk (*) to expand the term in your article searches:

• emergency
• emergency medic* (Emergency medicine, emergency medical)
• EMS
• EMT
• paramedic* (paramedic, paramedics)
• prehospital

• BLS: Emergency Medical Technician and Paramedic

  The Occupational Outlook Handbook describes the jobs, requirements in terms of certificates or education, working conditions, forecasts for growth, who’s hiring, and where. It also gives an idea of the job prospects and salaries to expect.

• California Emergency Medical Service Authority

  The mission of the California Emergency Medical Services Authority is to ensure quality patient care by administering an effective, statewide system of coordinated emergency medical care, injury prevention, and disaster medical response. The website has links to paramedic exam study and training. Additionally, there is information on many aspects of emergency medicine.

• EMS Responder

  EMS Responder is the home of EMS Magazine online which provides "news and training for paramedics and EMTs, as well as other pre-hospital practitioners." The site includes news, articles, training information, forums, and job links.

• Medscape Reference: Emergency Medical Articles

  This website is meant for physicians. There are articles on many topics in emergency medicine presented. EMTs and paramedics may want to attempt to stay current on some of these issues.

• National Associate of Emergency Medical Technicians

  "The mission of National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians, Inc. is to assure a professional representative organization to receive and represent the views and opinions of pre-hospital care personnel and to thus influence the future advancement of EMS as an allied health profession. NAEMT will serve it's professional membership through educational programs, liaison activities, development of national standards and reciprocity and the development of programs to benefit pre-hospital care personnel.”