Anxiety, Stress & Mental Health: Home

24-hour Suicide Prevention Lifeline:

800-273-8255 or text 838255

24-hour Domestic Violence Hotline:

800-799-7233 or click Chat Now

_________________________________

Call 911 if you or the person you are helping is in immediate danger.

Art Therapy Coloring 

Jigsaw puzzles

• American Psychological Association: Anxiety

  The APA provides basic information about many topics as well as current news, and offers suggestions for further reading, research, and getting help.

• Anxiety and Depression Association of America (AADA)

  Screenings for many types of anxiety including social anxiety disorder, generalized anxiety disorder and post-traumatic stress disorder. Includes lots of free webinars. 

• MentalHealthScreening.org

  A quick and simple way to take an anonymous mental health screening or find locations offering mental health screenings near you.

• National Day of Unplugging

  Constant connectivity can be overwhelming. If you need a break from your technology, the National Day of Unplugging is a 24 hour period – running from sundown to sundown – and starts on the first Friday in March. Carve out some time to unwind, unplug, relax, reflect, get outdoors, and connect with loved ones.

• National Institute of Mental Health

  Contains basic information about anxiety disorders, signs and symptoms, risk factors, and treatment.

• Stress Management (WebMD)

  Resources and tips for dealing with stress.

• Stress in America Press Room

  The Stress in America™ survey measures attitudes and perceptions of stress among the general public and identifies leading sources of stress, common behaviors used to manage stress and the impact of stress on our lives.

• Substance and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

  Search for treatment programs, funding opportunities and statistics relating to substance abuse and mental health issues.

Health Source - Consumer Edition (CONTAINS PEER REVIEWED MATERIAL)
This database, part of the EBSCOhost database collection, is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish). Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (CONTAINS PEER-REVIEWED MATERIAL)
Covers medical disciplines and information regarding prescription drugs, herbal remedies, and nutritional supplements.
Contains 650 full-text journals and abstracts and indexing for more than 850 journals and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide

MEDLINE
Provides citations from current biomedical journals. Topics covered include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collections (CONTAINS PEER REVIEWED MATERIAL)

No More Anxiety! : Be Your Own Anxiety Coach
Gladeana McMahon
ISBN: 9781855753815
Publication date: 2005
This clear and concise volume looks at different anxieties, phobias, stress disorders, obsession-compulsive disorders and burn-out. It promotes the increasingly popular method of cognitive-behavioural approach and therefore includes very practical advice with exercises. It also has a section on frequently asked questions and dietary advice. Details on further reading are listed as well as useful resources for people suffering from anxiety-related disorders.

______________________

Anxiety Disorders
Kerry Ressler, Daniel Pine, and Barbara Rothbaum
ISBN: 9780199395125, 9780199395132
Publication date: 2015
The Primer on Anxiety Disorders provides early-stage practitioners and trainees, as well as seasoned clinicians and researchers, with need-to-know knowledge on diagnosis and treatment. Clinical cases are used throughout the book to enhance understanding of and illustrate specific disorders, comorbid conditions and clinical issues. To facilitate an integrative approach, content allows clinicians to understand patient characteristics and tailor interventions. The integrated approach of each chapter includes recent research on genetics and neuroscience to understand the mechanisms of anxiety disorders, focusing on the forthcoming new nosology in DSM-5.