This Libguide is a collection of related government websites, California resources, and databases for Native Americans and other tribal groups
BARSTOW READS!
Tommy Orange's wondrous and shattering novel follows twelve characters from Native communities: all traveling to the Big Oakland Powwow, all connected to one another in ways they may not yet realize. Among them is Jacquie Red Feather, newly sober and trying to make it back to the family she left behind. Dene Oxendene, pulling his life together after his uncle's death and working at the powwow to honor his memory. Fourteen-year-old Orvil, coming to perform traditional dance for the very first time. Together, this chorus of voices tells of the plight of the urban Native American--grappling with a complex and painful history, with an inheritance of beauty and spirituality, with communion and sacrifice and heroism. Hailed as an instant classic, There There is at once poignant and unflinching, utterly contemporary and truly unforgettable.
Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee by 
Great Speeches by Native Americans by 
Encyclopedia of American Indian Contributions to the World by The American Indian Culture and Research Journal, one of the premier journals in Native American studies, publishes book reviews, literature, and original scholarly papers on a wide range of issues in the fields of history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts.
The American Indian Law Review serves as a nationwide scholarly forum for the presentation and analysis of developments in the law concerning indigenous people and Indian affairs. Adhering to the traditional law review format, the American Indian Law Review offers in depth articles written by legal scholars, attorneys and other expert observers. In addition, law students write on a wide variety of issues in the rapidly expanding field of Indian law
American Indian Quarterly has earned its reputation as one of the dominant journals in American Indian studies by presenting the best and most thought-provoking scholarship in the field. The journal is a forum for diverse voices and perspectives spanning a variety of academic disciplines. The common thread is AIQ’s commitment to publishing work that contributes to the development of American Indian studies as a field and to the sovereignty and continuance of American Indian nations and cultures. In addition to peer-reviewed articles, AIQ features reviews of books, films, and exhibits.
The Canadian Journal of Native Studies is a highly recognized journal in the field of Native Studies. It began as a publication of the Society for the Advancement of Native Studies which is no longer in operation and whose founder; Sam Corrigan; was the Chief Editor from 1981-2008. It comes out on a bi-annual basis, and publishes original research which is refereed by peer review. As a general focus, the journal publishes anthropological, historical, sociological, political, legal, educational and cultural issues affecting First Nations people. Although the majority of articles deal with Indigenous peoples in Canada, it also publishes articles dealing with Indigenous peoples world-wide.
Cultural Survival Quarterly was founded as a society newsletter. Over the last 40-plus years, it has become an authoritative resource on important issues that affect indigenous and ethnic minority communities around the world. Recent topics covered include the preservation of the Yuchi language; indigenous-led philanthropic funding; and indigenous-led land conservation initiatives. This magazine publishes thought-provoking essays, book reviews, and photographs with the intent of expanding public understanding about indigenous rights and cultures, with writers from indigenous communities or working closely with indigenous groups.
The First Peoples Child & Family Review is an open-access, interdisciplinary, and peer-reviewed journal honoring the voices and perspectives of First peoples and non-Indigenous allies and supporters. Our mission is to promote research, critical analysis, stories, standpoints, and educational resources which advance innovation within child, family, and community based-matters for First Nations, Métis, and Inuit, as well as Indigenous peoples abroad.
IIPJ welcomes scholarly articles that relate directly to Indigenous Peoples and have policy relevance. An article may focus on a single group, community, country, or population, but it must have policy implications or lessons that are relevant to other Indigenous Peoples or countries. Work that involves international comparison is a priority.
The International Journal of Indigenous Health (IJIH) was established to advance knowledge and understanding to improve Indigenous health. The Journal seeks to bring knowledge from diverse intellectual traditions together with a focus on culturally diverse Indigenous voices, methodologies and epistemology. The Journal is peer-reviewed, online, open-access and shares innovative health research across disciplines, Indigenous communities, and countries.
The Journal of American Indian Education (JAIE) is a refereed journal publishing original scholarship directly related to the education of American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and Indigenous peoples worldwide, including Inuit, Métis, and First Nations of Canada, Māori, Aboriginal/Torres Strait Islander peoples, Indigenous peoples of Latin America, Africa, and others. JAIE strives to improve Indigenous education through empirical research, knowledge generation, and transmission to researchers, communities, classrooms, and diverse educational settings.
NAIS publishes the best interdisciplinary scholarship in international Native American and Indigenous Studies. The journal provides an intellectually rigorous and ethically engaged forum for smart, provocative, and exciting scholarship while drawing on the extraordinary professional expertise of our ever-expanding membership in a process of double-anonymous peer review. NAIS provides a forum to place different kinds of research, intellectual traditions, and knowledge practices in conversation.
The Native Studies Review began publication in 1984 as a refereed bi-annual journal by the Department of Indigenous Studies of the University of Saskatchewan. The journal’s mandate is to feature original scholarly research on Aboriginal perspectives and issues in contemporary and historical contexts. As a multidisciplinary periodical, it publishes articles dealing primarily with a Canadian focus but welcomes submissions with an international focus.
Settler Colonial Studies is a peer reviewed academic journal, which is published four times a year. Settler Colonial Studies is supported by the School of Indigenous and Canadian Studies, Carleton University, Canada. The journal aims to establish settler colonial studies as a distinct field of scholarly research. Scholars and students will find and contribute to historically-oriented research and analyses covering contemporary issues. We also aim to present multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary research, involving areas like history, law, genocide studies, indigenous, colonial and postcolonial studies, anthropology, historical geography, economics, politics, sociology, international relations, political science, literary criticism, cultural and gender studies and philosophy.
Wicazo Sa Review is an interdisciplinary journal devoted to the mission of assisting Indigenous peoples of the Americas in taking possession of their own intellectual and creative pursuits. During the past two decades, American Indian Studies has emerged as a central arena in which Indigenous populations in the United States define the cultural, religious, legal, and historical parameters of scholarship and creativity essential to the ongoing process of decolonization and to survival in the modern world. Founded in 1985, Wicazo Sa Review is a journal in support of this particular type of scholarship, providing inquiries into the Indian past and its relationship to the vital present.
U.S. Dept. of the Interior
---Provides services to 566 federally-recognized American Indian tribes and Alaska Natives in the United States.
U.S. Dept. of the Interior
---Provide educational opportunities for eligible American Indian and Alaska native elementary, secondary, and post=secondary students from federally-recognized tribes.
U.S. Dept. of Interior
---Promotes the economic development of American Indians and Alaska Natives through the expansion of the Indian arts and crafts market.
U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services
---Oversees federal health programs for American Indians and Alaskan Natives.
National Archives
---Listing of websites on NARA Resources, NPS Resources, Digital Collections, Genealogical Resources, Historical Background, Laws & Treaties, and Tribal Resources.
Interview with Lotsee Patterson
Lotsee Patterson (Comanche Nation) is University of Oklahoma Professor Emeritus of Library and Information Science and the founder of the American Indian Library Association. This 2017 interview was conducted at the Library of Congress.