This guide represents an overview for the topic of Art and directory for future Libguides such as "Comics & Graphic Novels" and "Photography".
TIMELINE
• The Romanesque Period (1000-1300):
• The Gothic Era (1100-1500):
• The Renaissance Era (1420-1520):
• Mannerism (1520-1600):
• The Baroque Era (1590-1760):
• The Rococo Art Period (1725-1780):
• Classicism (1770-1840):
• Romanticism (1790-1850):
• Realism (1850-1925):
• Impressionism (1850-1895):
• Symbolism (1890-1920):
• Art Nouveau (1890-1910):
• Expressionism (1890-1914):
• Cubism (1906-1914):
• Futurism (1909-1945):
• Dadaism (1912-1920):
• Surrealism (1920-1930):
• The New Objectivity (1925-1965):
• Abstract Expressionism (1948-1962):
• Pop-Art (1955-1969):
• Neo-Expressionism (1980-1989): Modern Art
The Artstor Digital Library (library.artstor.org) contains over 2 million images from the world's museums, archives, libraries, scholars, and artists. Use Artstor to find images for papers, presentations, and study in the humanities. There's also a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading images directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.
Artcyclopedia attempts to collect every publicly available resource related to an artist available on the web, including books, articles, and multimedia titles, and collection holdings publicly listed by galleries, museums and foundations. Scholars should treat the Artcyclopedia as a supplementary or secondary resource as collections often refrain from freely publishing their holdings. Scholars should also make every attempt to cite the original work, and abide by copyright and fair use restrictions.
Art History Pedagogy & Practice is a peer-reviewed open access e-journal devoted to scholarship of teaching and learning in art history.
Founded in 2010, Art Histories Society (ArtHS) is a free, independent, online non-profit, educational, open network; working towards a public understanding of arts and their histories. Primarily concerned with the plurality of manifestations of the term art history, ArtHS promotes, through its website and its e-journal, advances in the science of history of art. Electronic editions from 2011-15 are available open access.
The Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance is an interdisciplinary research database containing documentation centering on the reception of antiquity, a focus of Renaissance studies.
Created in 1991, the Contemporary Artists Index is a unique resource developed and maintained by the CIA Library staff. Look here for artists, artists groups, photographers, craftspeople, designers, and design firms whose work appears in select publications in the library's collection.
A biographical and methodological database intended as a beginning point to learning the background of major art historians of western art history. A free, copyrighted scholarly database for the use of researchers, students and the public. A review of the recent changes to the dictionary's interface is available here.
Digitized texts and object images in the decorative arts. Hosted and published by the University of Wisconsin, Madison.
A portal to the Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive publishing program. Beginning with nearly 650 titles published from 1964 to the present, this resource offers access to nearly all books, bulletins, journals, and exhibition catalogues published by the Metropolitan Museum since the Met's founding in 1870. The resource also includes online publications.
The Print Council of America's Index to Print Catalogues Raisonné (IPCR) is for you if you need to know about the prints or photographs that a particular American, European or Japanese artist has made (or that have been made after his or her designs) and want to find out if there is an oeuvre-catalogue of his or her prints or photographs.
Open-access journal publishing peer-reviewed scholarly research exploring design, including selected articles about architecture and aesthetics. Navigate to the "free issue" tab to access the most recently available edition.
The SAAA is the world’s largest and most widely used resource dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of the visual arts in America. Search the archive's immense holdings here.
UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts. All materials on UbuWeb are being made available for noncommercial and educational use only. All rights belong to the author(s).
The Archives of American Art is the world’s preeminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.
Contains articles on artists, movements, and times periods that were central to modern art.
Features the world’s leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions, all in one place.
An online database containing close to 300,000 artists, providing biographies, images, citations, museums owning their work and galleries representing the artist's work.
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its website. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
Explore over 8,000 Documents of 20th and 21st-century art in Latin America, the Caribbean, and among US Latino communities.
The Getty Research Portal is an online platform providing global access to digitized art history texts. The Portal is comprised of catalog records that link to full, digitized texts hosted by the contributing institutions or their service providers.
Offers impartial and authoritative information on authenticity, ownership, theft, and other artistic, legal, and ethical issues concerning art objects. IFAR serves as a bridge between the public, and the scholarly and commercial art communities. We publish the award-winning quarterly IFAR Journal; organize conferences, panels, and lectures; offer a unique Art Authentication Research Service and provenance research services; provide comprehensive Web-based resources, such as the Catalogue Raisonné Database and the Art Law & Cultural Property Database; and serve as an information resource. We invite all people interested in the visual arts to join our organization and help support our activities.
The Latin American and Caribbean Contemporary Art Web Archive is a collection developed by the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation's Art & Architecture Librarians, and is an extension of an existing effort focused on collecting publications in all formats that document contemporary art and artists of Latin America and the Caribbean. The agreement defines contemporary art as it refers to 'developments in the visual arts from 1975 to the present,' with material sought 'for the entire career of artists who have been active at any time since 1975.' This archive aims to preserve for researchers the personal and official websites belonging to notable contemporary Latin American and Caribbean artists, artists’ collectives, artists’ groups, galleries, museums, and related entities in order to assure the continuing availability of the important content they contain.
BCC LIBRARY STAFF COLLABORATION
760-252-7270
