LibGuides: Performing Arts: Home

Introduction

This guide is intended as a link between the library's resources and performing arts students, professors, and staff. Here you will find electronic resources, books, and many more sources of information.

If you have questions regarding academic research please email the library at library@barstow.edu.

Librarian

April Ayto

Subjects: English, History, Humanities, Library Science, Literature, Supernatural Fiction

Encyclopedia Britannic defines performing, or performance, arts as a time-based art form that typically features a live presentation to an audience or to onlookers and draws on such arts as acting, poetry, music, dance, and painting.

General Databases to Look At

EBSCOhost (CONTAINS PEER REVIEWED MATERIAL) CONTAINS PEER-REVIEWED MATERIAL EBSCOhost is a collection of databases covering various subject areas and directed at various age groups. Includes full text of newspapers and encyclopedias, ebooks and various images, pamphlets, and brochures.
Health Source - Consumer Edition (CONTAINS PEER REVIEWED MATERIAL) This database, part of the EBSCOhost database collection, is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish). Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.
Infobase eBooks High Quality, Authoritative, Scholarly With our comprehensive eBook collections, you will find exclusive proprietary titles from esteemed Infobase imprints such as Facts On File, Chelsea House, Ferguson’s, Bloom’s, and Chelsea Clubhouse. Covering a multitude of subject areas, there is content to suit every student, educator, and patron
ProQuest Ebook Central Proquest Ebrary College Complete is the ideal academic electronic book collection for student research needs. With this product, you have access to large collection of material spanning a healthy cross section of topics with content compatible on almost any device.
Films on Demand Over 7,000 academic-level educational streaming videos covering most subject areas, from Films Media Group. Use your Bnumber to log in