LibGuides: English 1C: Home

Basic Information

The place to start is your course syllabus! This can always be found in the Canvas shell for your class. If you are having trouble finding it, ask your instructor.

If your section uses an OER textbook, there will either be a link to click on or a PDF will be provided to you. Otherwise, the library has many of the textbooks for 2-hour in-library checkout, and you can purchase copies at the Viking Bookstore. Some textbooks are available for rent or in e-book form through the Viking Bookstore.

Here are the Student Learning Outcomes for your course:

Evaluate readings for rhetorical appeals, bias, propaganda, and logical fallacies
Evaluate the validity of arguments and compose arguments

The library has print books and electronic resources for you to use in any research assignments and to help you understand the course material.

Library Resources

A-Z Database Guide
Here is a list of all our electronic resources. You sign in using your B number.
more...less...
These are NOT considered "Internet resources" so you can use as many of these as you want.
Library Catalog
Here is where you find print items such as books. You can also find some electronic journal articles and e-books here.

People in Your Readings

A New Aristotle Reader by J. L. Ackrill (Editor)
Call Number: 185 A717N
ISBN: 0691020434
Publication Date: 1988-01-21
In a single volume that will be of service to philosophy students of all levels and to their teachers, this reader provides modern, accurate translations of the texts necessary for a careful study of most aspects of Aristotle's philosophy.
Walden, Henry David Thoreau SparkNotes by Davis, Amanda et al.
Call Number: R 808.8 SPW162
Publication Date: 2002
If you're having any trouble understanding Walden, this reference guide can help you.
In Wildness Is the Preservation of the World by Henry David Thoreau; Eliot Porter (Photographer)
Call Number: 574.973 T488
ISBN: 9781623261160
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
IN WILDNESS is a vintage classic that pairs passages by writer Henry David Thoreau alongside images by photographer Eliot Porter. Porter and Sierra Club founder David Brower.

MLA Format and Essay Writing Resources

MLA Format

How to use EbscoHOST
How to use the e-books
How to use Films on Demand
Trust No One
A guide from your librarian
So I Saw This Meme on the Internet
Steps to a Research Paper

Nonpartisan Fact Checking Sites

The New Censorship by Gary Wiener
Call Number: 363.310973 W647
ISBN: 9781534508811
Publication Date: 2022-07-30
Censorship has taken many forms throughout the course of history, but the digital age has presented a unique set of issues. Although free speech is upheld as a constitutional right in America, cancel culture and other forms of censorship have quickly taken hold thanks to the power of social media and the echo chambers it creates.
Media Trustworthiness by Kathryn Roberts (Compiled by)
Call Number: 174 R643
ISBN: 9781534508989
Publication Date: 2022-07-30
According to the Pew Research Center, Americans' trust in the media is declining, particularly among those who identify as Republican.

E-books on your course material (You may need to enter your B number for access)

Media Rhetoric : How Advertising and Digital Media Influence Us
Informal Logical Fallacies : A Brief Guide
Informal Logical Fallacies: A Brief Guide is a systematic and concise introduction to more than forty fallacies, from anthropomorphism and argumentum ad baculum, to reductionism and the slippery slope argument. With helpful definitions, relevant examples, and thought-provoking exercises, the author guides the reader through the realms of fallacious reasoning and deceptive rhetoric.
Introduction to Information Literacy for Students
The mind under siege : mechanisms of war propaganda
Alexandra Kitty's vital new book is a guide to the stratagems and techniques of war propaganda.
Hate, Inc. : Why Today’s Media Makes Us Despise One Another
n this characteristically turbocharged book, now in a new post-election edition, celebrated Rolling Stone journalist Matt Taibbi provides an insider’s guide to the variety of ways today’s mainstream media tells us lies.
Propaganda, Power and Persuasion : From World War I to Wikileaks
The distinguished contributors to this book trace the development of techniques of 'opinion management' from the First World War to the conflict in Afghanistan. They reveal how state leaders and spin-doctors operating at the behest of the state, sought to shape popular attitudes - at home and overseas - endeavouring to harness new media with the objective of winning hearts and minds.
How Do We Reason? : An Introduction to Logic
How do we think? What does a faithful use of logic look like? Without even pausing to think about it, we exercise our capacity for rational thought. But how exactly does logic work? What makes some arguments valid and others not? This book offers a Christian perspective on these questions.
Wrong: How Media, Politics, and Identity Drive Our Appetite for Misinformation

Librarian

Kyri Freeman

Email Me

Subjects: History, Library Science

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete (CONTAINS PEER REVIEWED MATERIAL)
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format. Searchable cited references provide for more than 1,400 journals.

Books on Critical Thinking

Sway by Pragya Agarwal
Call Number: 301.5 A261
ISBN: 9781472971388
Publication Date: 2021-07-22
Dr. Pragya Agarwal unravels the way our implicit or "unintentional" biases affect the way we communicate and perceive the world, how they affect our decision-making, and how they reinforce and perpetuate systemic and structural inequalities.
Off the Edge by Kelly Weill
Call Number: 309.73 W422
ISBN: 9781643750682
Publication Date: 2022-02-22
Off the Edge tells a powerful story about belief, exploring how we arrived at this moment of polarised realities and explaining what needs to happen so that we might all return to the same spinning globe.
Seeing the Unseen: Beyond prejudices, paradigms, and party lines by Mark M. Beckwith; Shane Claiborne (Foreword by)
Call Number: 248 B397
ISBN: 9781640655188
Publication Date: 2022-03-22
A bishop and gun safety activist offers a way forward from opposing viewpoints. Instead of dismissing those whose views and experiences are different from our own, the author argues that we must look directly at them and see the goodness that is inherent in all things.