LibGuides: CHLD 35A: Home

Basic Information

The place to start is your course syllabus! This can always be found in the Canvas shell for your class. If you are having trouble finding it, ask your instructor.

If your section uses an OER textbook, there will either be a link to click on or a PDF will be provided to you. Otherwise, the library has many of the textbooks for 2-hour in-library checkout, and you can purchase copies at the Viking Bookstore. Some textbooks are available for rent or in e-book form through the Viking Bookstore.

Here are the Student Learning Outcomes for your course:

Upon completion of the course, the student should be able to:

Research and critically assess appropriate, positive guidance techniques for dealing effectively with children's behavior.
- Assessment method(s):
  - Research paper on guidance techniques and their effect on classroom management
  - Chapter reviews/breakout sessions/online discussions/questions/essays
- Survey
Design a behavior plan that supports the success of the child in the classroom by examining the child's environment: child's home life, and possible medical factors that may be affecting the behavior.
- Assessment method(s):
  - Develop a behavior plan
  - Develop a formal disciplinary action plan.
  - Chapter reviews/breakout sessions/online discussions/questions/essays
Facilitate and develop a partnership with the family that respects their knowledge of and is concerned for their child.
- Assessment method(s):
  - Paper reflecting on cultural diversity, children's behavior, and family partnerships.
  - Chapter reviews/breakout sessions/online discussions/questions/essays
  - Survey

The library has print books and electronic resources for you to use in any research assignments and to help you understand the course material.

Library Resources

A-Z Database Guide
Here is a list of all our electronic resources. You sign in using your B number.

more... less...

These are NOT considered "Internet resources" so you can use as many of these as you want.
Library Catalog
Here is where you find print items such as books. You can also find some electronic journal articles and e-books here.

Some examples of our print books for your course!

Invisible Americans: The Tragic Cost of Child Poverty by Jeff Madrick
Call Number: 362.7086 M267

ISBN: 9780451494184

Publication Date: 2020-01-28

An essential, and impossible to ignore, examination of one of the most pressing, harmful, and heartbreaking problems facing our country- the widespread poverty among American children.
Distracted by James M. Lang
Call Number: 370.154 L250

ISBN: 1541699807

Publication Date: 2020-10-20

Keeping students focused can be difficult in a world filled with distractions -- which is why a renowned educator created a scientific solution to one of every teacher's biggest problems.
The Truth about Lying: Teaching Honesty to Children at Every Age and Stage by Victoria Talwar
Call Number: 370.15 T152

ISBN: 9781433836213

Publication Date: 2022-07-19

All children lie. But when your child lies to you, it can feel like a personal betrayal. Backed by years of psychological research, this common-sense, practical guide reveals which parenting strategies promote truthfulness in children--and which ones don't. National Parenting Product Award Winner, 2023. Lying is a healthy and inevitable part of child development. But when do lies become a problem? In this book, psychologist Victoria Talwar, Director of the Talwar Child Development Lab at McGill University, presents practical, science-based strategies to address lying and foster truthfulness in children, from early childhood to the teenage years. Kids need to learn what honesty looks like in different social situations, and also how to tell the truth in ways that do not hurt others' feelings--a complicated task! Parents and caregivers will learn how to use stories and examples to have proactive conversations with children about honesty, and how to model honest behavior for children. Talwar shows readers how to respond effectively when a child lies (as they inevitably will). Backed by years of psychological research, this common-sense, practical guide reveals which parenting strategies promote truthfulness in children--and which ones don't.

MLA Format and Essay Writing Resources

MLA Format

How to use EbscoHOST
How to use the e-books
How to use Films on Demand
Trust No One
A guide from your librarian
So I Saw This Meme on the Internet
Steps to a Research Paper

Here are some articles on children's behavior

Using Prevent Teach Reinforce for Young Children to Manage Challenging Behaviors in Public Specialized Early Intervention Services for Autism
This proof-of-concept study assessed the feasibility of implementing Prevent-Teach-Reinforce-for-Young-Children (PTR-YC)
program to address challenging behaviors in children with autism within the context of public, specialized early intensive
behavioral intervention (EIBI) services ofered in community settings.
How the challenging behaviour of a traumatised child tells their trauma story and is a vital part of their recovery
Like the character in Coleridge’s ‘Rhyme of the Ancient Mariner’ who is driven to stop as many people as he can to tell and re-tell
his traumatic story, children too are telling us about the traumas
they have suffered in order to recover from them. But, unlike Coleridge’s wounded mariner who narrates his trauma, children use their behaviour to tell us their trauma story.
The relationship between behavior at school entry and services received in third grade
Recent studies report the cumulative prevalence of behavioral disorders among school‐age children to be second only to anxiety disorders. Unfortunately, by the time behavior has been identified as needing special education services, patterns of disruptive and externalizing behavior
have often become unremitting.
Early home learning environment predicts children’s 5th grade academic skills
We examined whether the early learning environment predicts children’s 5th grade skills in 2,204 families from ethnically diverse, low-income backgrounds; tested the mediating roles of children’s pre-kindergarten school-related skills and later learning environment; and asked whether lagged
associations generalize across White, Black, Hispanic English-speaking, and Hispanic Spanish-speaking samples.
ParentWorks: Evaluation of an Online, Father‑Inclusive, Universal Parenting Intervention to Reduce Child Conduct Problems
Evidence-based parenting interventions are efective in reducing conduct problems, yet these interventions have limited reach, and few involve the participation of fathers. This paper describes the outcomes of an open trial of ParentWorks, a universal, online, father-inclusive parenting intervention aiming to decrease childhood behavioural problems and promote positive parenting in mothers and fathers.

Librarian

Kyri Freeman

Email Me

Subjects: History, Library Science

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collections (CONTAINS PEER REVIEWED MATERIAL)

Films on Demand

Films on Demand
There are a lot of streaming videos on different aspects of child development and early education.

more... less...

You sign in using your B number.

ERIC Database

ERIC
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.

CONTENTS INCLUDE:
More than 1.6 million records
Links to nearly 750,000 full-text documents
Coverage dating back to 1966
An education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms

(Description taken from EBSCO's site at https://www.ebsco.com/products/research-databases/eric)

Featured New Material!

No Longer Welcome: The Epidemic of Expulsion from Early Childhood Education
For over 15 years, researchers have described a crisis in our nations' early learning classrooms. Hundreds of children are expelled from childcare and preschool every day; a rate nearly three times that of kindergarten-12th grade students. While policymakers have taken steps to mitigate this crisis, disparities in who is expelled persist. Boys and Black children are routinely over-represented among those pushed out of the exact environments that are supposed to help prepare them for school. Each child's expulsion is symptomatic of a larger crisis--an overburdened, underfunded, undervalued, and fragmented early education system.