LibGuides: CHLD 35, Children With Special Needs: Home

Basic Information

The place to start is your course syllabus! This can always be found in the Canvas shell for your class. If you are having trouble finding it, ask your instructor.

If your section uses an OER textbook, there will either be a link to click on or a PDF will be provided to you. Otherwise, the library has many of the textbooks for 2-hour in-library checkout, and you can purchase copies at the Viking Bookstore. Some textbooks are available for rent or in e-book form through the Viking Bookstore.

Here are the Student Learning Outcomes for your course:

Upon completion of the course, the student should be able to:


3. Collaborate with families and community members in supporting inclusion of children with special needs.
1. Recognize various exceptionalities and conditions of children and identify the best interventions for them based on the developmental continuum.
2. Evaluate the role of history and society in shaping current policies related to best practices of inclusion and serving children with special needs.

The library has print books and electronic resources for you to use in any research assignments and to help you understand the course material.

Library Resources

A-Z Database Guide
Here is a list of all our electronic resources. You sign in using your B number.

more... less...

These are NOT considered "Internet resources" so you can use as many of these as you want.
Library Catalog
Here is where you find print items such as books. You can also find some electronic journal articles and e-books here.

Some examples of our books for your course!

Distracted by James M. Lang
Call Number: 370.154 L250

ISBN: 1541699807

Publication Date: 2020-10-20

Keeping students focused can be difficult in a world filled with distractions -- which is why a renowned educator created a scientific solution to one of every teacher's biggest problems.
Navigating Autism: 9 mindsets for helping kids on the spectrum by Temple Grandin; Debra Moore
ISBN: 9780393714845

Publication Date: 2021-09-21

Empowering strategies for anyone who works with children and teens on the spectrum.

MLA Format and Essay Writing Resources

MLA Format

How to use EbscoHOST
How to use the e-books
How to use Films on Demand
Trust No One
A guide from your librarian
So I Saw This Meme on the Internet
Steps to a Research Paper

Here are some articles:

Using Prevent Teach Reinforce for Young Children to Manage Challenging Behaviors in Public Specialized Early Intervention Services for Autism
This proof-of-concept study assessed the feasibility of implementing Prevent-Teach-Reinforce-for-Young-Children (PTR-YC)
program to address challenging behaviors in children with autism within the context of public, specialized early intensive
behavioral intervention (EIBI) services ofered in community settings.

An art therapy course for children and adolescents #ARTCONNECTS: a manual for parents of children with special needs
The publication offers a set of art therapy techniques and methodologies for parents and all specialists working with special children.
The Inclusion Illusion: How children with special educational needs experience mainstream schools
This book combines an insightful account of the many issues and difficulties surrounding inclusion with a rigorous analysis of the outcomes and implications of the large-scale empirical work with which the author is associated.
Participation : Optimising Outcomes in Childhood-Onset Neurodisability
Participation provides a key reference work for health and education practitioners who wish to optimise outcomes for children, young people and families where there is an individual with a childhood onset neurodisability. By focusing on participation -- what is it, how to measure it and how to influence it - the book aims to support professionals to utilise the most recent developments in the field.

more... less...

You might need to enter your B number to view this.
Cripping Girlhood
Cripping Girlhood offers a new theorization of disabled girlhood, tracing how and why representations of disabled girls emerge with frequency in twenty-first century U.S. media culture. It uncovers how the exceptional figure of the disabled girl most often appears as a resource to work through post-Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) anxieties about the family, healthcare, labor, citizenship, and the precarity of the bodymind. In paying critical attention to disabled girlhood, the book uses feminist disability studies to rupture the unwitting assumption in girls’ studies that girlhood is necessarily non-disabled.

Librarian

Kyri Freeman

Email Me

Subjects: History, Library Science

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collections (CONTAINS PEER REVIEWED MATERIAL)
An EBSCOhost database indexing 550+ scholarly/peer-reviewed journals back to 1965 on a wide range of psychiatric and psychological subjects. Updated daily.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand
There are a lot of streaming videos on different aspects of child development and early education.

more... less...

You sign in using your B number.

BCC Library Catalog

BCC Library Catalog
Our catalog contains many, many scholarly articles and e-books on children with special needs. You can either enter your keywords in the search box or go directly to the catalog or the databases.

Featured New Material!

Sitting Pretty
A memoir-in-essays from disability advocate and creator of the Instagram account @sitting_pretty Rebekah Taussig, processing a lifetime of memories to paint a beautiful, nuanced portrait of a body that looks and moves differently than most.

Growing up as a paralyzed girl during the 90s and early 2000s, Rebekah Taussig only saw disability depicted as something monstrous (The Hunchback of Notre Dame), inspirational (Helen Keller), or angelic (Forrest Gump). None of this felt right; and as she got older, she longed for more stories that allowed disability to be complex and ordinary, uncomfortable and fine, painful and fulfilling.